churches 01

Within the bounds of the United Benefice of Lockerley East Dean, East and West Tytherley there are five churches.  Records identify the St Johns as extant in 958AD and it is likely that the charmingly simple building of East Dean has a similar pedigree. Shown in the sketch above (2nd image) is St John's before its demolition and replacement (5th image).

stjohns 1830 02 tnstjohns13 tnstjohns07 tn

There is a charming water colour (left) by Jane Austen's elder sister Cassandra showing the old St John's church in 1787. It is a view from the river Dun and shows the rectory as it was at the time. A further sketch shows the church at possibly the same era and this correlates well with one of the photgraphs taken much later.

The original churches of East Tytherley and West Tytherley were replaced by victorian edifices. The Providence Chapel - shown on the 1892 OS maps - the Baptist church - on Lockerley Green is a plain edifice which dates from the late 19th century.